Home News Technical Articles Interviews Cover Story Orders & Contracts
Power Generation
Green Energy

National Grid capacity touches 27,750 mw

Em News Bureau ,  Friday, July 20, 2012, 17:05 Hrs  [IST]

The total transmission capacity of the National Grid, consisting of inter-regional transmission links, stood at 27,750 mw as of March 31, 2012, according to information tabled in Parliament. At present the National Grid consists of transmission grids of respective state transmission utilities and interstate transmission system (ISTS) grid.

From the operational point of view, the ISTS grid is divided into five regional grids—Northern Region (NR), Western Region (WR), Southern Region (SR), Eastern Region (ER) and North Eastern Region (NER) grids. These regional grids have been interconnected to form a national power grid that is being developed in a phased manner. By now, all the regional grids have already been inter-connected. Four regional grids of the national grid viz. NR, WR, ER and NER grids have been interconnected synchronously and the SR grid is connected asynchronously with the rest of the national power grid. This has been done through HVDC links and radially-operated AC links.

The Southern Region is also planned to be synchronously interconnected with the rest of the national power grid through two 765kV single circuit lines between Raichur (Karnataka, SR) and Solapur (Maharashtra, WR) by 2014. The additional links between the Southern and Western regions would enable increased transfer of power between southern states and other states. Such augmentation of inter-regional capacity shall also facilitate integration of large renewable generation in southern region with rest of the country, the Parliament reply noted.
Post Your RemarkYOUR REMARK
* Email :    
  Website :  



© 2017 Electrical Monitor. All Rights Reserved.